Too hot to roast the chicken

We’re working on budget meals in my house these days so when I saw a plump looking chicken in the shops for a good price I thought a roast chook would make a perfect mid week meal. Trouble is, we are having a bit of a heat wave so I didn’t want to turn on the oven…

Enter the BBQ. No rotisserie spit in our hand-me-down barbecue so it was time for me to learn how to butterfly a bird.

Yes, I’m 37 and I’ve never butterflied a chicken. Heck, most of the time I buy boneless/skinless breast and thighs so I don’t need to deal with the raw meat more than necessary. I have to admit – I liked chopping this bird up. Maybe I’ve become less squeamish or maybe I’m just more ready to accept where my food is coming from, but I liked preparing the chicken pieces myself.

I followed these instructions for how to flatten a chicken, and used the honey balsamic glaze from that same recipe when barbecuing. I ended up just cutting it into quarters instead of leaving the two halves since by the time I’d taken out the backbone and breast plate they were only held together by skin.

Easy, delicious, and economical.

Leave a Reply

