Grey water gardening

A few times lately I’ve had people question the fact that we use laundry rinse water to water our garden. “That’s not the cleanest water, is it?” I’ve been asked. Well, no, but I don’t feel the need to use drinking water in the garden, even the veggie patch. The garden is probably getting a bit more potassium and salt than it needs but so far that hasn’t affected the plants (or those of us who’ve eaten them).

Maybe it is because I’m not neurotic about the origin of the veggies I buy in the shops that makes me feel better about that which I’ve grown myself. Even if I am using ‘dirty’ water.

Leave a Reply

