Conference tweets

The whole point of Twitter is that you follow whoever you want, right? So why do I feel guilty tweeting about a conference I’m attending when a follower tweets about not liking conference tweets? I agree that it would be nice to have a choice to ignore a hashtag and perhaps that is a good enhancement request for 3rd party twitter applications.

But what really bothering me is not the argument but my own reaction to it. The comment was not necessarily directed towards me – but I felt like it was. I appreciate being part of the twitter backchannel at conferences. It adds value to the conference and provides a way to network with peers.

So to those naysayers out there… stop following me when I’m at a conference if you don’t want to hear my tweets.

Leave a Reply

